Driven by Service. Defined by Results.

Pennsylvania – eNotes – Workers’ Compensation September 2026

SIGNIFICANT CASE SUMMARIES

Pennsylvania Significant Case Summaries

Trs. Of the Univ. of Pa. v. Braas
No. 481 C.D. 2025
Commonwealth Court of Pennsylvania

Decided: August 20, 2026

The Commonwealth Court held that Section 449 of the Act prohibits WCJs from imposing non-statutory prerequisites, such as requiring settlement of all issues, before conducting a hearing on a petition to seek approval of a compromise and release agreement.

Facts

Claimant sustained a work-related injury in January of 2021. Employer issued a medical-only Notice of Compensation Payable. The WCJ subsequently expanded the accepted work-related injury by way of a Decision and Order. Employer thereafter filed a Termination Petition, asserting that Claimant had fully recovered from the work-related injuries. The reasonableness and necessity of Claimant’s ongoing chiropractic treatment was also called into question by way of Utilization Review Petitions (“UR Petitions”).

While the Termination Petition and the UR Petitions remained pending, the parties reached an amicable resolution and filed a Petition Seeking Approval of a Compromise and Release Agreement (“C&R Agreement”). The C&R Agreement resolved future compensation liability but did not address the pending Termination and UR Petitions. However, the WCJ wrote to the parties advising that there would be no settlement hearing unless the C&R Agreement resolved all issues raised by all Petitions. Shortly thereafter, the WCJ issued a Decision and Order on the merits of the Termination and UR Petitions, concluding that Employer met its burden of proving that Claimant was fully recovered and that the treatments under review were not reasonable or necessary. The WCJ failed to mention the C&R Petition in that Decision and Order.

Claimant appealed, arguing that the WCJ erred in granting the Termination and UR Petitions before holding a hearing on the Petition Seeking Approval of the C&R Agreement, thereby violating Section 449 of the Act. The Board agreed, stating that Section 449 requires an expedited hearing when a Petition Seeking Approval of a C&R Agreement is filed. The Board found that because the Petition Seeking Approval of a C&R Agreement was filed under the same dispute number as the Termination Petition and UR Petition, it became procedurally consolidated with the on-going litigation. The Board vacated the WCJ’s entire Decision and remanded to a new WCJ to hold a hearing and to decide the Petition Seeking Approval of the C&R Agreement as well as the Termination and UR Petitions. Employer appealed.

Holding

The Commonwealth Court affirmed the Board’s conclusions. The Commonwealth Court emphasized that Section 449’s language is mandatory when stating: “Once the parties submit a signed proposed compromise and release, the WCJ ‘shall’ consider it an open hearing . . . . and a decision must [be] issued within thirty days.” The Court held that the WCJ could not condition access to the hearing on the settlement resolving all other petitions, as the statute is designed to protect claimants by ensuring they understand the agreement’s full legal significance before it is approved.

Takeaway

This Opinion clarifies that Section 449’s procedural requirements are mandatory and that WCJs must hold an expedited hearing on any signed compromise and release agreement, regardless of other pending claims. There is no statutory authority permitting the WCJ to impose non-statutory prerequisites like requiring settlement of all issues.

Questions about this case can be directed to Emily LaGreca at 267-861-7589 or elagreca@tthlaw.com.

 

J&S Technology Solutions, Inc. v. Gonzalez (W.C.A.B.)
No. 928 C.D. 2023
Commonwealth Court of Pennsylvania

Decided: August 4, 2026

Commonwealth Court determined that the Claimant was an employee, rather than an independent contractor, as the putative Employer exercised substantial control over the Claimant’s work. The Court further held that an insurer may be equitably estopped from denying workers’ compensation coverage against a third-party contractor that reasonably relied upon a certificate of insurance issued by the insurer’s authorized agent representing that coverage existed.

Facts

Claimant worked as a satellite installer for J&S Technology Solutions, Inc. (“J&S”), which contracted with Dish Network to perform satellite installations. Claimant originally signed an Independent Contractor Agreement in 2015, but the agreement expired in 2016 and was never renewed. After Claimant returned to J&S in August 2019 to perform Dish Network work, J&S trained him, assigned his daily jobs, provided major installation equipment, restricted his ability to work for competitors or use helpers or subcontractors,

and exercised control over various aspects of his work. Claimant was injured on October 28, 2019, when he fell from a ladder while installing a satellite dish.

At the time of Claimant’s injury, J&S did not have workers’ compensation insurance because its prior Brickstreet Insurance Company policy had expired and J&S had not paid the premium necessary to renew the policy. Before the prior policy expired, however, J&S’s insurance agent, issued a certificate of insurance identifying a Brickstreet workers’ compensation policy covering September 25, 2019 through September 25, 2020. The agent knew when he issued the certificate that no renewal policy was actually in effect and knew the certificate would be provided to Dish Network. Dish Network required J&S to maintain workers’ compensation insurance and relied upon the certificate in permitting J&S to continue performing installation work.

The WCJ determined that Claimant was an employee of J&S and that, because J&S was uninsured, Dish Network was Claimant’s statutory employer under Section 302(a) of the Workers’ Compensation Act. The WCJ further concluded that Dish Network did not justifiably rely upon the certificate of insurance and declined to estop Brickstreet from denying coverage. The Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board affirmed. J&S appealed, arguing that Claimant was an independent contractor rather than an employee. Dish Network separately appealed, arguing that Brickstreet should be equitably estopped from denying coverage because Dish Network reasonably relied upon the certificate issued by Brickstreet’s authorized agent.

Holding

On appeal, the Commonwealth Court affirmed the determination that Claimant was an employee of J&S. In determining whether an individual is an employee or independent contractor, the primary considerations are the putative employer’s control over the work to be completed and the manner in which the work is performed. The credited evidence established that J&S exercised substantial control over Claimant, including scheduling and assigning his work, restricting his ability to work for others, prohibiting him from using helpers or subcontractors, providing the major equipment necessary to perform installations, and controlling aspects of how customer and installation issues were handled. The expired Independent Contractor Agreement, Claimant’s receipt of a Form 1099, and his maintenance of liability insurance did not outweigh the credited evidence demonstrating an employment relationship.

However, the Commonwealth Court reversed the Board with respect to Dish Network’s equitable estoppel argument. The Court determined that the agent issued the certificate using his authority as Brickstreet’s agent, despite knowing that no renewal policy was then in effect. Dish Network reasonably relied upon the certificate as proof that J&S maintained workers’ compensation coverage and continued using J&S as an installer based upon that representation. The Court emphasized that the Workers’ Compensation

Act itself recognizes certificates of insurance as proof of coverage and rejected the conclusion that boilerplate disclaimer language rendered Dish Network’s reliance unjustified. Accordingly, Brickstreet was equitably estopped from denying the coverage represented in the certificate as against Dish Network.

The Commonwealth Court therefore affirmed in part and reversed in part, and remanded Dish Network’s appeal to the Board for further remand to the WCJ for proceedings consistent with its opinion

Takeaway

This case emphasizes that a defendant’s control over a claimant carries the day when determining if that claimant is an independent contractor or employer. This case further demonstrates the power of a certificate of insurance in placing a carrier on the hook for workers’ compensation benefits even if the underlying policy had expired before the injuring event.

Questions about this case can be directed to Taryn Vender at 570-825-4794 or tvender@tthlaw.com.

Related Practice Areas

Share: